Tomato Rosemary Scones from Vegan Brunch

I did not make these for my brunch.

I did not make these for my lunch.

O! Scone-ione-iones

at Midnight.

-me, just now

I received Vegan Brunch (by the one and only Isa Chandra Moskowitz) as a Christmas gift last year and went to town on it with my sticky flags, picking out my favorite-sounding recipes. One that I had yet to try was the Tomato Rosemary Scones. Perhaps it was all of the immediate birthday needs and my overall preference to bake sweeties that steered me off course, but last night, success was had!

I have a tendency to get heartburn easily, especially when consuming tomato products after midnight…   (!)  However, for those with normally flame-retardant esophagi, this is such a scrumptious recipe and pretty hard to mess up, in my opinion. My only complaint? It’s very sticky. I found myself dipping my long-handled spoon into my bag of flour (to add for kneading), in hopes that I would not get the mess in the bag – it was an urgent goo-handed need. I recommend more than a “lightly floured” surface for these goo monsters. It was also somewhat tricky to make the triangle shapes because it required making *two small discs to slice into sixths. After the first disc was sliced, I created six more round, and equally delectable, scones.

They were done in 14 minutes and came right up off of the pan. I’m wondering if the extra two minutes allotted in the recipe may have dulled their superhero-strength orange tint, but I love their consistency. I sent some off to work with my guy today and plan on sharing the rest with my coworkers and parents. They are too good to not share, and surely this means making another batch by the weekend!

Thanks, Isa!

*Yes, you do only count nine in the photo. :p

~ by Katherine Cota MacDonald on October 3, 2011.

5 Responses to “Tomato Rosemary Scones from Vegan Brunch”

  1. Oooh, I love rosemary! I need to get my hands on a copy of Vegan Brunch; I’ve seen so many yummy-looking posts from it!

  2. Those look great! Vegan Brunch is one of my all time favorite cookbooks ^_^

  3. I LOVE those scones. Looks like they turned out splendidly.

  4. […] hungry, I’d have one of Joyfulgirl’s Pumpkin Bagels, or maybe one of the beautiful Tomato Rosemary scone that green light vegan baked up from Vegan […]

  5. Brunch is my favorite – and these scones sound amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

 
