When I Hear Longhorn..

chelseablack

chelseablack

I wondered one day as I was passing a LongHorn Steakhouse: How many people think of the actual longhorn cow when they hear that name? After it clicked in my head, these gorgeous animals are all I can think about when hear it.

Angus burger? Same thing.

I became simultaneously sad and angry when I went to find a photo to include in this post and the search term “longhorn” yields info on the restaurant much sooner and more frequently in listings than info on the cows. “Longhorn cattle” is only marginally better. The exploitation of animals works its way down to the tiniest details of our culture.

~ by Katherine on September 6, 2009.

2 Responses to “When I Hear Longhorn..”

  1. Thank you for this post. I will repost. It is very touching and thought provoking. The photo is just beautiful and of a beautiful creature who (among many others) is sadly exploited for the sake and satisfaction of tastebuds. I feel just the same as you. Every time I pass by a cow pasture, I always note how I would love to spend time with them.

  2. We have two Longhorn steers. They are so smart and beautiful. I surprised my husband with them for his birthday last year. We have lots of animals on our ranch and can not imagine them being treated cruel….they are very pampered.

    http://leicalady.wordpress.com

    I love your blog!

    http://leicalady.etsy.com

Leave a Reply

 
