Auerworld Willow Palace And Other Arboreal Things

auerworldPalace2

Marcel Kalberer

Discovering the Auerworld Willow Palace  project (Marcel Kalberer) made me wish I lived in the forest.

 I remember watching Sesame Street and seeing a cartoon about a kid brushing his teeth and leaving the water running while doing so. It showed a split screen of his bathroom and a little pond outside with a fish in it. As the boy merrily brushed away, the water around the fish was getting lower and lower. From that day on, I stopped letting the water run while I brush my teeth and wash my face. I think that was the first step in bridging the intellectual gap between my love of animals and my love of nature, causing me to realize we are all connected. (Read Ishmael, by Daniel Quinn!)

Conservation factors aside, I simply love being outdoors. I never outgrew

Marcel Kalberer

Marcel Kalberer

my love of forts and treehouses and secret meeting spots. I’ve always had a vivid imagination and loved thinking about what went on in the woods and trees while I wasn’t there. A beautiful apple orchard on my aunt’s property when I was growing up was my favorite place to go and read, sing to myself, play club house with my cousin, bring fresh-picked blackberries to hoard, and duck out inside of after throwing the crab apples at the infrequent passing cars of the rural road.

I’ve had a few places throughout my life that are similar to that one, but without the harassment of passers-by. Usually! Maybe it’s the great memories of being little and thinking up all sorts of fantasies involving talking animals and fairies and spies, or maybe it’s my deeper appreciation for the natural world as a retreat from the buildings and vehicles, but I can safely say my love of secret little spots under trees will never cease. I like to think that when I own my own home, I can build a creative space for art, or a dance studio, or a sound recording room, but when it comes down to it, all I really want is an awesome treehouse with electricity where I can put on some music and watch the squirrels. Destined to always be a kid at heart. 🙂

glvb The Treehouse Camp (Rohrersville, Maryland) – Beautiful treehouse cottages and an adorable website, too!

glvb Out ‘n’ About Treehouse Treesort  (Cave Junction, Oregon) – Treehouse rentals, treehouse ziplining, and other brave outdoors-y things.

glvb Living Root Bridges (Cherrapunji, India) – Created by architect Marcel Kalberer.

~ by Katherine on August 29, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
