I Can’t Believe It’s Vegan!

Accidentally Vegan saves the day when it comes to small towns whose stores do not stock a lot of proclaimed vegan food. I like to eat healthily, and being vegan has certainly cut out a lot of the (delicious, delicious) junk that I used to eat, but I love sweets! My sweet tooth is lodged into my brain. I’ve had some great homemade (by others) and store-bought vegan sweets, but I’m still looking for a vegan brownie comparable to Cosmic brownies. One day… 

PETA has compiled a thorough, but not 100% complete, list of many, many unexpectedly vegan items that are not specifically labeled as vegan. Breakfast, beverages, snacks, condiments, baked goods, etc. These items may not be listed as certified vegan for various reasons. For example, they can be produced on the same equipment as dairy products. The items on this list are not intentionally made with any animal-derived ingredients, though. Read all ingredients before you purchase an item. Most products list any dairy ingredients in the bold allergen section at the end of the ingredients list. Other common ingredients to check for are whey, casein, milk fat/protein, and more. See CC’s ingredients list.

I’ve read through this list several times in the past two years and something new catches my eye every time. Last week, I discovered that some Mrs. Smith’s pies and Pillsbury turnovers are vegan! Oh dear.


~ by Katherine Cota MacDonald on August 24, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: